Over the Moon

It’s Sunday again, and that can only mean one thing: fantasy football.

And this week, my team is actually winning. You cannot imagine how surprised I am.

In all fairness, it does help that my opponent’s team flopped. His quarterback, Russell Wilson, got a stellar 9.56 points – about half of what he was projected to get. And to add on to that, my opponent’s tight end, one of his wide receivers, and one of his running backs all performed poorly. I bet now he wishes that he had played Travis Benjamin (his benched wide receiver who got 23 points).

But enough of my opponent. How did I do? The answer: pretty damn well.

It wasn’t actually a great week for my quarterback, though. My father and I decided to bench Roethlisberger because we thought Tennessee’s defense would be easier to get points off of. We were wrong, but it didn’t really matter, because our defense was terrific. As I mentioned last week, we drafted Arizona’s defense and they really came through: 4 interceptions, one returned for a touchdown, and only seven points scored against them. As a result of their performance, my team got to add 24 points to our overall score.

But it wasn’t just the defense. Nearly everyone did well today. For example, Isaiah Crowell: he got 133 rush yards and 1 touchdown (and like 15 receiving yards that didn’t really contribute to his total) to get 20.80 points and be the #2 running back of the week. And then there was DeAndre Hopkins (our first round pick) who got 113 yards and 1 touchdown and was rewarded with 17.30 points. Add that to the 14 points our tight end got, and we were in the lead for most of Sunday afternoon.

But we’re not done yet! We still have two players left to go (Ryan Matthews and Blair Walsh) so by tomorrow we’re projected to get 126.78 points – which would be about 47 points more than my opponent. As it is, we’re already 30 points up and he doesn’t have anyone left to play.

So it’s safe to say that this has been a good fantasy week for my team. Sure, we made some mistakes – we probably should have played Roethlisberger, and maybe instead of having DeSean Jackson in the W/R/T position, we should have played Clive Walford (who got 11 points compared to Jackson’s 4) but all in all, this was a really good week.

And hopefully we keep this momentum going.

 

week two player stats.PNG
My team’s performance (left) this week compared to that of my opponent.

Leave a Reply

