My Depressed Friend

There’s a guy that I’ve never actually met. I barely know anything about him; basically I just know his name and his location.

I also know that he is horribly depressed.

I met him on that app ‘Whisper’ where he had posted something about wanting to kill himself. So I replied telling him that he shouldn’t. That led to a conversation that’s been going on for a few months now.

And the more I’ve talked to him, the more I just want to give him a hug. It’s just so demoralizing to see a human being actively hate himself, especially since from what I can tell, he’s a kind, caring person. Despite feeling terrible day in and day out, he will still ask me how I’m doing (which is something that some of my ‘friends’ in the past weren’t able to do). And yet every few weeks he’ll ask me that question: “Why are you being so nice to me? I don’t deserve it.”

And that’s what really breaks my heart. I honestly don’t understand how someone so kind can see himself in the worst possible way. And I really, really want to help him because I hate seeing him like this. But I honestly have no clue what to do to help him. I just feel so desperate, because for now all I can do is listen. And I’m not sure that’s going to be enough.

I just really want him to get better.

One thought on “My Depressed Friend

  1. Sometimes, being there for someone and holding their hand, is all you can do. And sometimes, that is all you need to do to get them through tough times. He knows there is one person who cares about him and who would be devastated if he killed himself. That can be enough to stop him from doing it. When I was depressed, knowing that my parents would not recover from my killing myself was the only reason I didn’t do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

