The Importance of Gratitude

I have a lot of trouble expressing my emotions and feelings to other people. This includes telling them how much they mean to me and how thankful I am to have them in my life.

This is especially important for me now as I go off to college and leave behind my family and closest friends. I wish I had told them how much I loved them a lot earlier than now. There is one friend in particular, one of my only friends in high school, that was always there for me, and I regret not telling her how much she meant to me before graduation.

I think it’s important to show gratitude for the things you appreciate in life, and I wish I had had the courage to do that in person. But I guess I’m going to give thanks here.

I’m thankful for my high school friend, who was so loving and supportive throughout high school, who was one of the only people (besides my family) to cheer for me at graduation, and who gave me flowers at graduation when barely anyone else would take pictures with me.

I’m thankful for my mother, who has always been supportive and loving, who has been helping me through this difficult time, and who never stopped believing in me.

I’m thankful for my father, who has always challenged me and pushed me to be a better person, and who was the only one who seemed to understand me when I talked about how lonely I felt.

I’m thankful for my brother, who despite his slightly annoying quirks and my tendency to snap at him, forgave and continues to forgive me, and who hugged me through an entire panic attack even though he didn’t have to.

I’m thankful for my church music director, who encouraged me to sing in the choir and even sing solos (which helped me build my confidence and confront my social anxiety) even though I was scared to death and doubtful of my singing ability.

I’m thankful for my high school Calculus teacher, who reminded me that I have talents in math, and that a B on a test and even in the class was not a failure (and who reminded me that I’m good at poker).

I’m thankful for my “adoptive grandma” from church who always gives me a hug and kiss and makes lots (and lots and lots) of sweets.

I’m thankful for my godmother who showed up to my graduation mass even though she was going through a difficult time and didn’t have to come.

This isn’t a complete list of all the people I’m thankful for, and hopefully I’ll be able to compile a full list soon. The point of this, however, is to show a little gratitude to everyone who has had to put up with me. It would be wrong to let their good deeds go unnoticed, and hopefully showing them gratitude will make them feel a little happy. Not only that, but showing gratitude has always made me feel good. It’s a shame I’m not good at doing it in person.

-cmblanc

Leave a Reply

